Life’s Hidden Lessons


(Life’s latest hidden lesson.)

Whenever we go to the beach, I literally get stuck holding a bag that doesn’t complement my manhood very well. It’s also usually accompanied by some kind of admonition.

“You need to carry your share of the load,” I’ve often heard.

Deep inside, I know she’s right. I invariably walk away embarrassed by both my thoughtlessness and the scarlet letter of a bag that drives home the point.

After careful planning which began months ago in the States, I decided to man-up and take responsibility to pack and carry our beach stuff. That way I can carry my fair share of the load in our relationship and do it with a proper looking back pack in the process. 

I was so excited about my new initiative, I even packed everything up last night for today’s trip to the beach. You can imagine my disbelief then when I saw my woman toting this beauty of a bag with us. Of course, you just knew my disbelief would eventually turn to horror and I would get stuck with the bag. I’m not sure what the Universe is trying to tell me. There’s a message in all this that still remains hidden to me.

Leave a Reply

