What a Wonderful World


So there are two ways of looking at my morning that are both absolutely true. 

I was met at 4:00 am by a drunken reveler when I left my fiancé’s place to go to the airport; I waited 20 minutes for a cup of coffee because the barista forgot to put coffee in the filter; and the plane I was due to fly out on struck a bird coming into Amsterdam.

At the same time, I was greeted with the merriest hello ever, was gifted a free cappuccino, and made it safely to my intermediary destination. I could crisply hear Louie Armstrong singing throughout it all…

I see trees of green, red roses too


I see them bloom for me and you


And I think to myself what a wonderful world!


(Photos of roses delivery, a canal house, and a mom with her child–all this week in Amsterdam. The picture on top is a gecko in France.)

© Gregory Masiello, 2017

Leave a Reply

