Monday’s Loaf of Bread: Introducing William


(Photo of William Champine)

Welcome to Monday’s loaf of bread where I serve up a larger portion of perspective to start off the week. For the rest of the week, I’ll slice up life and dish it out in small pieces. Seeing that I’m a connoisseur of French toast, I’ll also dip it in egg, fry it up, and drizzle gooey syrup all over it. Keep an eye out for my “Alcohol and Philosophy Don’t Mix” and “She looked me in the eyes and said” segments. 

Fittingly, the first Monday’s loaf has to do with the Bread of Life. Allow me to introduce William Champine and his ministry William in the Light of Jesus. Rarely, if ever, do we meet someone in this life who makes us question our take on faith and all things touched by it. William is one of those very rare souls.

I first met William in 1994 when I was the Youth Minister at St. Pius X Church in Loudonville, NY. I was walking into my office at the church when he was walking out. We met in the parking lot. There was a small crowd around him and I was naturally drawn to the source of everyone’s fascination. It took a surprisingly long time for the crowd to leave him so I could at least say hi. I found out that he had just led a healing service at the church. I had never been to one so I asked him to describe to me what happens there. “Let me show you,” he said.

It was then that William blessed me in the parking lot. Within a few seconds, my knees buckled and I surely would have been on the tarmac had he not grabbed my shoulders to keep me from falling down. It was an interesting experience that I grappled with for many of nights afterward.

The next night, I had a dream that I was in the St. Joseph’s Oratory in Montreal, Quebec. In real life, the church is a monstrous basilica dedicated to the life and works of Saint Brother Andre. When I awoke, I just knew he had some connection to the religious brother who healed thousands. I was right.

William’s family lived near Brother Andre when he was a baby. His mother had him blessed by the holy man every opportunity she could get. Obviously, something wore off on him.

Anything you want to know about William is either on his webpage or his videos on YouTube. You can find his video on YouTube by searching “Special Prayer for Healing from William Champine” and “Faith Healer William Champine.”

This is what I want you to know about William. A friend of mine was diagnosed with Stage 4 Cancer. It started in his thyroid and then spread to his lungs and brain. His prognosis was grim. I told him about William. By that time, he was beaten down physically and emotionally by the cancer treatment and chemotherapy. He asked me to attend William’s service in his stead. I was happy to do it.

About 3 months later, I received a call from my friend. He had been to his oncologist earlier in the week and received unfathomable news. “My doctor said she had only seen this one or two other times in all the years she’s done the work,” he said. “I’m completely healed.”

It’s the only thing I need to know about William when the needs for practicality and certainty press up against the struggles of faith; my friend was healed of cancer.

Every Sunday, William conducts a healing service at 3:00 pm. The place of his weekly service is posted on his webpage under the tag ‘Services’. On September 10, he will begin having services at the New Russia Cultural Center at 1550 Broadway in Rennsalear, NY.

You can come to his services or even call him. I’ve posted a photo of his business card below. He asks nothing for his works and prayers other than a free will offering. If your prayers are answered, please thank him accordingly.

Oh, I would be remiss if I didn’t share one more story of his. He died from pneumonia when he was 7 or 8 years old. He was met by Jesus on the other side of life. In the ethosphere of life after death, William was taken to a place where he could see the entire planet. As they traveled there at an unimaginable speed, William asked Jesus if he could do somersaults. Their speed slowed and his wish was granted. Who would ever think to amble in the afterlife? It’s a glimpse of William’s faith and what I imagine Jesus meant when he said we must receive the Kingdom like a child. May we all have such giant, childlike faith. He awoke a short time later, completely cured.

© Gregory Masiello, 2017

Leave a Reply

